Blog Tour: Tarnished Are the Stars

 

By Rosie Thor

Release Date: October 15, 2019

3.5/5 stars ★

I hope you’re having a wonderful October and you’re reading this in good health! While life has caused me to fall behind in many of my planned book reviews, I’m beyond psyched to welcome you to my stop on the Fantastic Flying Book Club tour for Tarnished Are the Stars! This is a book that’s as beautiful on the inside as its cover!

 

Synopsis

The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron.

A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher’s chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog — donning the moniker Technician — to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner’s tyrannical laws.

Nathaniel Fremont, the Commissioner’s son, has never had to fear the law. Determined to earn his father’s respect, Nathaniel sets out to capture the Technician. But the more he learns about the outlaw, the more he questions whether his father’s elusive affection is worth chasing at all.

Their game of cat and mouse takes an abrupt turn when Eliza, a skilled assassin and spy, arrives. Her mission is to learn the Commissioner’s secrets at any cost — even if it means betraying her own heart.

When these uneasy allies discover the most dangerous secret of all, they must work together despite their differences and put an end to a deadly epidemic — before the Commissioner ends them first.


About the Author

author.jpg

 

Rosiee Thor began her career as a storyteller by demanding that her mother listen as Rosiee told bedtime stories instead of the other way around. She lives in Oregon with a dog, two cats, and four complete sets of Harry Potter, which she loves so much, she once moved her mattress into the closet and slept there until she came out as queer.

 

 

 


 

Review

“We are made or unmade by our choices”

Have you ever wanted to overthrow a government on the first date? Ever wanted your f/f romances to include more knife fights? Do you love any story that includes clockwork hearts and kickass female leads who are geniuses when it comes to mechanics? If so, then this one’s for you!

There are so many things to love about this book. The premise of this story is unique and the author has a knack for writing multiple POV’s really well. I’m not usually a huge fan of books with multiple points of view, but this was done in a way that I enjoyed! I love all the main characters in this story and their character growth as well. They’ve all suffered losses and are going through struggles for freedom and each need to decide what strength and loyalty means to them throughout their journey.

The one thing in this book that absolutely made my heart soar was the LGBT rep. The f/f romantic scenes were amazing! And we have an aromantic/ asexual character! The words are right there on the page! And the characters have a discussion about it!

I have mixed feelings about this book, unfortunately it fell flat in a few places. The romance was too rushed for me, and I have no love myself for insta-love scenarios. Thor is such a great writer and this book was so close to being perfection to me if only it had more pages and also dove a little deeper with the world building. As with the antagonists’ motivations and drive, the world building wasn’t bad, it just left something to be desired. While this is a sci-fi and boasts steampunk elements, there surprisingly wasn’t much of both those aspects in the story. This book just supports my belief that if you’re going to have a standalone with multiple points of view and you want to be completely satisfactory and fleshed out, it needs to be much longer than your average ya fiction book.

Tarnished Are the Stars was quite the entertaining read! If the cover and synopsis doesn’t win you over, the characters definitely will! I’d recommend it if you’re looking for a standalone dystopian with some steampunk elements.

 

 


Don’t forget to check out the other stops on the Tarnished Are the Stars blog tour & enter the TOUR GIVEAWAY!

 

Tour Schedule

October 15th

October 16th

Utopia State of Mind – Guest Post
Moonlight Rendezvous – Review + Favourite Quotes
Book-Keeping – Review

October 17th

L.M. Durand – Interview
Luchia Houghton Blog – Review + Favourite Quotes
Dazzled by Books – Review + Favourite Quotes
The Reading Chemist  – Promotional Post

October 18th

BookCrushin – Guest Post
Novelishly – Review
My Thoughts Literally – Review + Favourite Quotes
TBR and Beyond – Review + Playlist + Favourite Quotes

October 19th

Morgan Vega – Review + Favourite Quotes
Starlight Reads – Review + Favourite Quotes
Arzo Reads – Review
Confessions of a YA Reader – Promotional Post

October 20th

NovelKnight – Interview
Bookishly Nerdy – Review
The Layaway Dragon – Review + Favourite Quotes
One in a Million – Review

October 21st

Kait Plus Books – Interview
The Book Dutchesses  – Review + Favourite Quotes
Novel Nerd Faction – Review + Playlist

 

 

Thank you to FFBC and Scholastic Press for providing me with a finished ecopy in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s