Book Tour & Giveaway: Tiger Queen

EvxWRrrw

By Annie Sullivan

Release Date: September 10, 2019

3.5/5 stars ★

Welcome to my stop on the Tiger Queen blog tour! I’m excited to share this one with you all- it’s my first time making a mood board for a book. I hope you like it!

Synopsis

IE18tVe4

From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”

In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.

But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and her heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.


About the Author

annie-sullivan-headhsot-final Annie Sullivan is a Young Adult author from Indianapolis, Indiana. Her work has been featured inCurly Red Stories and Punchnels. She loves fairytales, everything Jane Austen, and traveling andexploring new cultures. When she’s not off on her own adventures, she’s teaching classes at theIndiana Writers Center and working as the Copy Specialist at John Wiley and Sons, Inc. publishingcompany, having also worked there in Editorial and Publicity roles. You can follow her adventureson Twitter and Instagram (@annsulliva).


Review

69587189_2376500099333117_2776192771948544000_n.jpg

“And so I leave it with all of you: which came out of the opened door- the lady or the tiger?”

Annie Sullivan’s retelling of ‘The Lady or the Tiger?’ takes the original story to another level. As a fan of Stockton’s famous short story, this version gives a satisfying answer to the question he leaves with his readers. However, you don’t need to read ‘The Lady or the Tiger?’ in order to enjoy Tiger Queen.

I have to say, the concept of this novel is exceptional! Adventurous and inventive, Tiger Queen is a fun desert fantasy with a lot of action. There were nice gladiator elements and an aspect of one of my favorite tropes: found family. I loved Sullivan’s personification of the desert, making it a main character and giving it so much life.

While I loved the concept of this story, the execution left me a bit underwhelmed. The characters seemed one-dimensional and underdeveloped to me and the romance fell a bit flat. It also starts off a bit slow in my opinion. But in these instances it’s more of an, “it’s not you, it’s me,” thing? I found it to be an enjoyable read overall.

I would definitely recommend Tiger Queen to anyone who enjoys desert fantasies and fun, action filled standalones! The atmosphere and fight scenes will not disappoint!

 


Check out the other stops on this tour for more of the Tiger Queen!

And be sure to click the link below to enter the Giveaway to win a Tiger Queen Poster and signed bookplate!

A
Rafflecopter
Giveaway!

 

Tour Schedule

September 4

That Artsy Reader Girl – Welcome Interview

September 5

Library of a Book Witch – Book Review, Creative Post
Abellafairytale – Book Review
Feed Your Fiction Addiction – Book Review
Careful of Books – Book Review
Faery Tales Are Real – Book Review
Becky’s Book Blog – Book Review + Favorite Quotes

September 6

Starlight Reads – Book and Book Cover Review
Sometimes Leelynn Reads – Book Review, Creative Post (Playlist/Dream Cast)
The Caffeinated Reader – Book Review + Favorite Quotes
The Baroness of Books – Book Review, Creative Post (Quiz)
Lost In Storyland – Book Review
Portals of Paper and Ink – Book Review, Book Aesthetic/Mood Board
Bookishly Nerdy – Book Review, Creative Post

September 7

Adventurous Bookworm – Book Review, Author Q&A
Confessions of a YA Reader – Book Review + Favorite Quotes
Moonlight Rendezvous – Book Review + Favorite Quotes
Clarissa Reads It All – Book Review + Favorite Quotes

A Book Addict’s Bookshelf – Author Guest Post

A Court of Coffee and Books – Book Review + Favorite Quotes
Belle’s Archive – Book Review + Favorite Quotes
Nay’s Pink Bookshelf – Creative Post

September 8

Lisa Loves Literature – Book Review, Author Interview (re-share)
One In a Million – Author Guest Post
The Shelf Life Chronicles – Book Review + Favorite Quotes
Book Butterfly In Dreamland – Book Review
Fictitiouswonderland – Bookstagram Review

September 9

A Fictional Bookworm – Book Review + Favorite Quotes
Devouring Books – Book Review + Favorite Quotes
The Book Dutchesses – Buddy Book Review + Favorite Quotes

Story-eyed Reviews – Book Review
Sereadipity – Book Review + Favorite Quotes

September 10

Star Is All Booked Up – Book Review, Bookstagram Post
To All the Books I’ve Read Before – Book Review
Angela Walker’s Reviews – Book Review
Cinnamon Summers – Book Review
Reading Under the Covers – Book Review
Mahkjchi’s Not-So-Secret Books – Book Review, Creative Post

September 11

TBR and Beyond – Book Review + Favorite Quotes
Book Nerd Anonymous – Book Review, Creative Post
Paper Reader – Book Review
Wishful Endings – Book Review, Author Q&A
Popthebutterflyreads – Book Review, Creative Post
Thank you to FFBC and Blink YA Books for providing me with an advance ecopy in exchange for an honest review.
Advertisements

One thought on “Book Tour & Giveaway: Tiger Queen

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s